Leslie Benet, Ph.D., Chairman of Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Benet is a professor and former Chairman (1978-1998) of the Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, UC San Francisco. His research interests, more than 480 publications, 7 books and 11 patents are in the areas of pharmacokinetics, biopharmaceutics and the role of transporters in PK/PD. Dr. Benet is listed by ISI as one of the most highly cited pharmacologists worldwide. His most recent work has addressed the interplay of metabolic enzymes and transport proteins as related to oral bioavailability and hepatic elimination, with particular emphasis on immunosuppressive, anti-cancer, anti-AIDS and anti-infective drugs.

He is a Fellow of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research, the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). In 1985, Dr. Benet served as President of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He was the founding President of the AAPS. Dr. Benet is a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences. He is the former Chair of the Pharmacology Study Section and the Pharmacological Sciences Review Committee for the NIH, the FDA Center for Biologics Peer Review Committee, the FDA Expert Panel on Individual Bioequivalence, the Board of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the FIP, the Organizing Committee for the Millennial World Congress of Pharmaceutical Sciences, the Congressionally mandated IOM/NRC Committee on Accelerating the Research, Development and Acquisition of Medical Countermeasures Against Biological Warfare Agents and as a member of the FDA Science Board and the Generic Drugs Advisory Committee. He presently serves as a member of the IOM Forum on Drug Discovery, Development and Translation, the FDA 100th Anniversary State of Science Review Committee and the Board of Directors of the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education.

Dr. Benet received his AB (English), BS (Pharmacy), M.S. from the University of Michigan and his PhD from University of California, San Francisco. In addition, he has received seven honorary doctorates from universities around the world.